I just sent my crashed computer off to be repaired.  I’m using my personal laptop.  It’s very old and nearly useless in this context, but it’s better than nothing.

Last night I discovered that some elderly family friends have spent thousands and thousands of dollars on bizarre, overpriced and ultimately useless shit that a prominent televangelist says will help them get through the “end times.”  I went into major asskicking mode and contacted their children, the Better Business Bureau, and everyone else I could think of.  My resolution for 2011 may be to take this bastard down.

This morning a creepy weird guy from church asked we put his wife on the prayer chain.  She’s fallen and hurt herself, he says  She seems to do that a suspiscious amount.  Their relationship has a strange power dynamic.  I just told the pastor I’m worried about her.  I really don’t know what else to do.  I think he hits her.  I really, really do.  But she’s doting and smiley and so on and is never away from him, so it’s hard to have more than suspicions.  There’s nothing I can think of to do with that particular bastard, which just makes me sick.

If you want my theological understanding of what it means to “take the name of the Lord your God in vain” it’s what these guys are doing.  Exploiting scripture to extort money and hiding behind holy language to hide abuse.  This makes me sick.

Ugh.  Not a great twenty four hours, really.

