Or is the line between hipsterwear and and whatever it is poor, rural white people wear becoming increasingly impossible to define?

Today we’re hosting a back to school fair for low income families. There are health screenings and giant piles of school supplies to be distributed and McGruff the Crime Dog, who terrifies me by the way, and face painting. A fourteen-year-oldish kid just wandered past my office window wearing stripe-sided track shorts, a soccer jersey with a stretched out neck, and some sort of skinny rag tying back his long, greasy hair back. He was wearing velcro shoes. Is this a look? Or what he found at Goodwill?

Every time I see an American Apparel ad lately, I can’t help but think how much the clothes they’re now selling look like what my mom’s friends wore when I was growing up.

