Lookit. I am as socially liberal as anyone you’re likely to meet. I care about the concerns of low income people, and I do not believe I know what’s best for poor people, beyond knowing that having food, shelter, medical care, and being treated with dignity is what’s best for everyone everywhere. I also realize that poverty may compromise people’ access to basic hygiene. Some people don’t have running water. Other people lack the resources to purchase soap and deodorant, items not covered by SNAP benefits.

Having listed my disclaimers and expressed my sincere concern for the well being of others, I would like to take this opportunity to point out it smells like a dead hobo’s ass in here today. I’m not judging anyone. I am not even meaning to minimalize the tragedy of homelessness. But I am not enjoying this smell.

